Hank's Writing · Poetry

A Drop

From the black clouds a single drop falls

Drop, Drop, Drop

It flies through the air like a baron of the skies

Drop, Drop, Drop

Down on the street my body still stands

Frozen in time like a colorless glare

And on that body the single drop lands

Like a prophet from a heavenly stare

 

It slides down my cheek like a lovers caress

A feeling I thought would never come again

Onto my neck like a ravenous kiss

I touch with my hand but it’s no longer there

 

The liquid bead sinks into the skin

Like a tear of which I am now empty

It dissolves in my blood, making it thin

Easier to flow, easier to leave me

 

The skies command more drops to release

Crimson soldiers drowning in blame

March through the fall to finally bring peace

I can almost hear her calling my name

 

They enter through the skull, shattering the mind

The eyes can almost taste the serenity of the dawn

The molten sting releases as the body becomes blind

The skin continues melting until I too am gone

Leave a comment